close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Need help with Categories and Sub Categories

Thread began 3/30/2009 9:37 am by wrigleydon259291 | Last modified 5/24/2010 11:06 am by anonymous | 4243 views | 6 replies |

wrigleydon259291

Need help with Categories and Sub Categories

Hi, I am very new to PHP and ecart. I am constructing the database stucture within phpmyadmin.

I am currently trying to add subcategories to exisitng product categories and I'm completely confussed about the best and most simple way to do this ie:

Category - subcategory - further subcategory - list of products

I have my 'itemcategory' table setup on my database which has my main category ID and Names listed. I just really need to know the direction to go for adding the subcategories. Would I need to create a new table for these subcats? or would I create a new field within the 'itemcategory' table?

I would be most grateful if someone could help me solve this or point me in the right direction. Many thanks.

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

You could do either. You could use a parentCategoryId or a separate table. It really depends on the final requirements of the solution you are creating... just one level of subcategories? or do you want to support:

Category - subcategory - further subcategory - further subcategory - further subcategory - list of products

Really there isn't a right way or a wrong way. Each would have pros and cons.

Did this help? Tips are appreciated...

wrigd

Hi Ray, thanks for your response. I would definately prefer to have the : Category - subcategory - further subcategory - further subcategory - further subcategory - list of products, solution. What would you recommend as the best way to set this up. Many thanks.

Ray BorduinWebAssist