close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Newbie help needed

Thread began 7/13/2010 1:06 pm by FPeter297870 | Last modified 7/15/2010 7:56 am by Jason Byrnes | 2490 views | 10 replies |

FPeter297870

Newbie help needed

Okay folks

A bit of a diiference from the usual posts, I am a total newbie using Data Assist and need some help getting started so it shouldn't be hard for anyone on here to answer my questions.

I'm used to working with Dreamweaver, a little Flash and some scripts but have absolutely no idea when it comes to this.

I need a good tutorial which starts right from the start basically, as to what to have on my PC to be able to use Data Assist, create a database with a table and how they all link together to make a database driven website.

Right now I have Dreamweaver CS4, I have a website that I would like to add a property search to which gets results from a database, probably easy for everyone on here, but we all had to start somewhere.

Anyone want to point me to a tutorial that a 5 year old could understand.

Peter

Sign in to reply to this post

elewis93815

With a little more information it would be easier to pin point where you're having problems. As for a tutorial, we've found that the Web Assist pdf's are helpful, some are out datated, however they will get you close to setting up all of your files, databases etc.

I hope that helps

Jimmy Wu

Well, the first thing you want to do is to take a look at the support page:
dataassist/

Follow through some of the tutorials and if you have more specific questions, it will be easier for us to provide you with the help you need.

FPeter297870

Hi Jimmy Wu & elewis93815

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Some of the tutorials in Web Assist pdf's are outdated, this may be alright for some who have a bit of knowledge about these things but for a newbie its just a massive road block.