close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Can you import a store's database with Powerstore?

Thread began 6/26/2010 4:58 pm by cldsk369146 | Last modified 12/09/2015 9:15 am by Ray Borduin | 1540 views | 4 replies |

cldsk369146

Can you import a store's database with Powerstore?

Hello, I am working for a small bookstore that is interested in making an online store. They already use MacPosX for their inventory/sales...is there a way to import and/or sync the databases with Powerstore so that the inventory can be the same and does not have to be retyped? We are looking at different options, and I suggested Powerstore for them, but we want to make sure it can at least import the database, if not sync with it. Please let me know.

Many thanks!

Sign in to reply to this post

neilo

I have no prior experience with this but there seem to be tools out there that would help; one example is here

Does MacPosX have the ability to export to different formats? It may be that it can export tables to a format that MySql can import.

Hopefully a seasoned (Mac) developer here will have some more specific advice!

The extended features of the POS software would not be transportable though, i.e. the invoice printing and scheduling or the label-printing and barcode support; but if the inventory and customer details and sales details tables are exportable, then the data from these may be importable into mySql (perhaps as csv files) and could be used for the functionality that Powerstore offers.

i.edwards384429

updates

providing the fields are the same types and size there should not be an issue.

YOu may have to do a double convert ie into excel and then into mysql but it should be possible.

Take a look at thisstring

read.php?108,212918,212918

cheers

Ian

Jimmy Wu