close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Dynamic Data for Menu

Thread began 3/27/2010 4:25 am by anonymous | Last modified 5/17/2010 9:41 am by Jason Byrnes | 2733 views | 9 replies |

anonymous

Dynamic Data for Menu

Hi
Just want to say that the software really does make if wonderful for a novice like me. Could you help me with the following:-

1) My Menu is Pulling from a Field but It is pulling multiple copies of the same item( how do I make it call one - i think the word "distinct" has something to do with it but I'm still learning. Example Customers ay have a Ford, Vauxhal, Peugeot, Honda Ford, Mazda - but i want the list to only show 1 Ford.

2) Once the Make is Selected, I want my next field to filter a populated list of the models specific to ford - ie instead of listing all models it needs to automatically filter to ford models example - Mondeo, Astra, 406, civic, Kuga, 626

If the Customer chooses the Ford (Make) from the 1) List, then the next field (models) from the 2 list will filter Mondeo, Kuga.

I hope I make sense with this - I spent a whole day yesterday trying to make it work. Please help!

Regards

Tony

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

to create dynamic dependent drop down list that you are describing, you will need to use our Dynamic Dropdowns extension.

your data base should have a make table, and a model table using a foreign key in the model table to relate them:

make:
makeID - Primary Key
makeName - text

model:
modelID - Primary Key
modelMakeID - Foreign Key relation to make.makeID
makeName - text

example data:
make:
makeID | makeName
------------------------
1 | Ford
2 | Honda

model:
modelID | modelMakeID | makeName
------------------------------------------
1 | 1 | Mondeo
2 | 1 | Kuga
3 | 3 | Civic

the recordset for the first list will return all columns from the make table:
select * from make