close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

CafeCommerce First Impressions

Thread began 3/18/2011 6:52 pm by Lon Winters | Last modified 4/06/2011 10:12 am by Justin Hood | 2330 views | 14 replies |

Lon WintersBeta Tester

CafeCommerce First Impressions

So far, I've only signed up and looked around a bit but wanted to post my initial impressions before forgetting what they are!

The homepage is very easy to gasp andmthe sign up process is also easy. I like the fact that I just had to enter my subdomain, email and password to sign up, then it goes directly to the log in screen and retains the sign up info, except for the password of course. So getting started takes less then a minute, very nice.

I'm not a security expert, but it does seem thentrend is to do away with all sorts of validation, email confirmation and the like just to create an account.

I also like the tool tip form validation on the sign up form. I use WA Validation toolkit, and the downside therenwith server side validation is needing to save space onnthe page for error messages. I wold like to see an extension offering the tooltip method?

I didn't set up my store yet, but the start page looks like it's going to be easy - no guessingnwhere to start or what to do next. The buttons make it very clear how to proceed.

I did look at the first set up page. Here the tool tp that dispolyed when I Moises over the store namenfield behaved eratically. It showed up both to the left and right of the text field (not at the same time of course). Sometimes it would contain one long single line of text, other times it would wrap. It also extended beyond the browser window on both sides window was sized smaller. I'm using the latest version of Safari and Windows 7.