close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Email Failure

Thread began 6/28/2010 11:12 am by davewosborn408554 | Last modified 7/21/2010 6:44 am by Jason Byrnes | 4773 views | 10 replies |

davewosborn408554

Email Failure

I'm new to developing on a local server (windows 7) with php, Xampp, Apache/mySql and uploading to Yahoo as my website host. I'm using Universal Email 4 as a Dreamweaver CS4 extension. I use Windows Live Mail locally with a connection to my Yahoo email account. I can send emails from my website locally and on Yahoo using 'mailto' commands but I cannot get UE to work. It inserts a row into the email_log and gets to my "Go to Page" when done but no emails are sent. In the email_log I have the following error message:

Sending To: myemail@yahoo.com... mail() [<a href='plugins/function.mail'>function.mail</a>]: Failed to connect to mailserver at &quot;localhost&quot; port 25, verify your &quot;SMTP&quot; and &quot;smtp_port&quot; setting in php.ini or use ini_set() - Failure <br>

I checked php.ini and they are set to localhost and port 25 as expected. I uploaded the file to Yahoo and it fails there too, the error at Yahoo says:

Sending To: myemail@yahoo.com... - Failure <br>

This seems like such a simple matter yet I don't know how to proceed. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Sign in to reply to this post

Jimmy Wu

From what I can tell, this issue looks like it either arises from having the smtp settings set up incorrectly in your php.ini file or your smtp server requires authentication. Can you check the php.ini smtp settings?

davewosborn408554

php.ini settings