Do you have your default browser configured to alert you about all errors? If so you should try turning this feature off to see if it allows you to get the preview without the error message.
When you edit the form what option are you selecting? What happens if you select any of the other options? Can you create a new page in this site and apply one of the forms from a saved preset? What happens if you do that and try to edit that form?