close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Adding pages to your site menu with powerCMS Templates

Thread began 6/04/2010 6:30 am by martin384871 | Last modified 6/24/2010 12:30 pm by Ray Borduin | 6904 views | 5 replies |

martin384871

Adding pages to your site menu with powerCMS Templates

Please disregard his post, I have had a helpful response on another thread Thank you.
I'm new to the Webassist stuff-I have CSS Menu Writer, Site Sculptor and CSS Sculptor. I want to include a horizontal navigation bar that my clients can edit via the built in Power CMS features that come with the Site Sculptor-but can't get it to happen. When I upload to testing server only the text areas like 'content' and 'sidebar' are editable. Is this possible or do I need to go back to Joomla...hope not! The Webassist stuff is so much easier for clients. My suspicion is that PowerCMS does not create new pages so looks like this would mean all bets are off. Can anyone help?

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

You may be able to use template pages in site sculptor to achieve the result you are looking for.

You could add the editable region to the template that is created in the /Templates/ folder to add the side navigation area.

Then use menu writer to create the menu you want to add. I believe you can only add tables to loop on in the menu writer wizard, so you will have to update the recordset on the menu include after it is created. So you can either add it entirely later, or use the ps3_contents table where you want the links to be updated through powerCMS. That will set up a recordset with the correct columns you will use and the correct repeated regions, so that might be the best bet to get started.