close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

adding shiping methods

Thread began 2/03/2010 9:08 am by John_GR | Last modified 2/08/2010 3:10 pm by Jason Byrnes | 1224 views | 5 replies |

John_GR

adding shiping methods

Hello
i own e-cart 5 and powerstore 2
I nould like to ask you if it is possible to add the option to the user to choose between 3 shipping methods for delivery and according to his choice a flat shiping rate will be added to the total. I would like this to be a dropdown menu with 3 options.

For example i want to offer the options:
1. normal shipping (through post office)
2. Courrier delivery
3. pickup from store

i want when the user chooses the desired option, to automatically refresh the page
and display the shipping cost.

Is something like this possible?
What steps do i need to follow?
I am a designer basically with limited code experience...

------------UPDATE to QUESTION
If the user chooses to pickup an order from store, would it be possible not to process a payment online but give him the ability to pay at the store? I would like the order to be placed though...

Thanks in advance
john

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

Yes, you can do this, but you will need to do some hand coding and it is not supported.

It will require creating the select list on the checkout page.

add a hidden form element on the confirm page to capture the value from the select list.

Add a set session value server behavior on the confirm page to capture the value from the select list.

Add if statements around the local checkout code on the confirm page so it will only be processed if the Pickup form store option was selected.

add an if statement around the UPS Shipping code on the confirm page so it will trigger if the normal shipping option is selected.