close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Check Out without Payment Gateway, but Capture User Details

Thread began 12/03/2009 12:13 am by jo4koalas392067 | Last modified 12/07/2009 4:07 pm by Jason Byrnes | 5070 views | 8 replies |

jo4koalas392067

Check Out without Payment Gateway, but Capture User Details

Hi

I hope you can help and I am sure you are fed up of the phrase I am new to Ecart, PHP and MySQL, sadly I have to say it again, so please bear with me.

I am trying to set up a subscription site (so no physical objects being brought) as part of what we offer is 10 days free trial and then we contact the clients to get their payment details.

The thing is I need to collect not only the subsciption type price etc like an order, but also need to collect and store the users details in a database which I would then like to use with Security Assist to gain access to the subscription only parts of the site.

I have made a start and find myself running around in circles. I have tried setting it up with a payment gateway and then removing the gateway but all I seem to be able to do is collect the order details, but failing to capture the user details. I am happy to start again, but appreciate a step by step run through (idiots guide) to how to set this up or some helpful suggestions.

Many thanks for your time.

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

Where you are selling subscriptions, you will want to force the users to register / login before they can checkout. See the "How to apply Login/Register functionality to your Checkout Process" tutorial in the how to section of the eCart support page for information on this.

The user registration will be the user details.

In the orders table, you should have an OrderUserID column. This will be used to relate the order to the logged in user.