close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Customer Download Gallery

Thread began 12/02/2009 4:17 am by C Claypool | Last modified 12/03/2009 9:13 am by Jason Byrnes | 1568 views | 3 replies |

C Claypool

Customer Download Gallery

Hi ...
I have a vision, but I don't know if it is possible ... I do have the subscription, (and PowerCMS - but somehow I don't think I get to use that!) so if someone could help me figure out the process, I should be able to make it work.

I am a graphic designer and I want to provide a place for people to download their files/proofs. They may have several files they should have access to at once. I am currently just using an online folder/clickable link I give them access to via an email. I would like to better this solution ... I think I see DigitalFilePro in my future as well as SecurityAssist and possibly DataAssist.

From their end, I would like to have them log-in from my site, be taken to their page(es) and be presented with a pleasing array of files which they click and are prompted to save on their desktop (not just the generic file folder listing. I am not trying to add excessive work on my end, so I am not thinking custom thumbnail but maybe something automatically generated from the file?)

From my end, I would like to have an administrative backend where I can upload the file, and designate who gets to see it (so that each clients page is dynamic, not hand coded) I would like to know that the file has been downloaded (the count feature also seems nice)

Does this seem possible without an insane level of work ... I am trying to increase my security for client files, not dramatically increase my day-to-day work, and if possible, make it look pretty from their end (in that order of priority)

Any ideas or workflow suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist