close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Multiple problems: Permissions, "No images" error, more

Thread began 11/30/2009 9:48 am by AdamG | Last modified 12/03/2009 2:27 pm by Justin Nemeth | 2978 views | 8 replies |

AdamG

Multiple problems: Permissions, "No images" error, more

So I'm just getting started with Power Gallery. Here are some of the issues:

Uploaded all files to the web server.
Navigated to the Power Gallery files, and started up the wizard.
Wizard creates a file called "Connections" but sets up the folder without write permission. It also sets up the folder with incorrect ownership (User: apache; Group: apache). Should be User/group for my server.

I therefore had no access to "Connections". Couldn't delete it, etc.

Workaround: Had to call my webhost to delete the folder and re-create it.

All fine, at this point (except I need to know what I did wrong, or if your software isn't working correctly).

Now, I'm trying to include the images that are provided as samples, but Power Gallery is reports "ERROR: The image folder contains no images! Please choose another folder." The images are definitely in the folder... I can see them in the Power Gallery Admin system.

Your help will be appreciated.

Permissions problems persist. The folder called "images" which was created when I tried to import the sample images has the same incorrect permissions as the "Connections" file. I can't access the folder, so I think I'm going to have more problems.

Need some help, guys.

Sign in to reply to this post

Justin Nemeth

The directories should have been created with permissions allowing writing, but its possible your server is setup in a way that is not creating them how we expect. You can try modfying a few lines of code that should hopefuly fix the issue.