close ad
Help us test the new Databridge BETA with MySQLi support
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Sculptor doesnt save my changes

Thread began 11/19/2009 2:24 pm by Cologne | Last modified 11/30/2009 9:22 pm by Eric Mittman | 2388 views | 11 replies |

Cologne

Sculptor doesnt save my changes

Hi,

its very strange. I selct a design, make some changes and save it under an other name. that works perfect.

no, when I reopen my saved design and make again some changes and save them.

then they are not saved :-(

What am I doing wrong?

Denis

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

I understand in general what you are saying but if you could post back with a specific example and steps I could take that yield this result for you I will be able to look into this issue further. Please also include info about your OS and DW version as well.

Sign in to reply to this post

Cologne

Its very difficult to explain. I make changes to my custom disgn, and these changes arent saved. I always have to take a NEW name.

I got a German PC, German Windows Vista Home Pro, CS3 German, extension last version incl. that FIX.

And right now, CSS tags are entered I dont know who made them ?

And if I select a line in Sculptor, the line under my selected line is selected, and changes are not to see or dont happen.

See the red in the image.

For me, its very hard to work with sculptor even if I like the extension, but those little errors are not good for fast work :-)

Any other infos needed?

Denis

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

To try and test this out I created a new Sculptor page. I made a couple of edits to the page then clicked on finish. I was prompted to save a preset, so I made a new name and saved the preset. I then went and created a new Sculptor page, this time I made a single change to the new preset that I created. When done I clicked on finish and when prompted to save a new preset I just saved over the existing one I had created. I was then prompted to confirm overwriting the original preset. When I went to create another Sculptor page I checked the areas that I had edited and saw that my edits had been retained.

If you could give me a similar series of steps that you are taking that make it so the preset is not overwritten I would then be able to test this out to see if I can reproduce the result you are experiencing.

Sign in to reply to this post

Cologne

Hi Eric,

I think the trick is always check the SAVE AS box. Even when the right name is already written. I thought, the checkbox SAVE AS, is there, to create a new name and not to overwrite the choosen design. So I never checked the box, cause, I didnt want to create an new name.
But it seems, to save changes to the same design, I have to check the box, too. This is a little strange. Or am I wrong? maybe you can fix that in an update:-)

thanks for maken me doing it step by step, so I found the reason why.

Thanks a lot,
Denis

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

I'm glad that you were able to work around this. The checkbox there can be a little confusing but you just have to keep in mind that you will not be saving any of your work unless you have the box checked when referencing an existing preset, or enter a new preset value.

Sign in to reply to this post

eddempsey327330

Same problem as Cologne

I am having the same problem. I am using DW CS4. I created a new style, made some changes to the layout, background, text, etc. I then saved out my new layout as a preset with its own unique name. When returning to the program to make some more changes I clicked on the "Preset Manager" icon for CSS Sculptor, located my design and clicked on "Edit". I then made some more changes to my design. When I was ready to quit I clicked "Finish". Then "Finish" again, then in the Preset manager "Done". None of my changes had been saved. There is no "Save as" checkbox when editing, only when creating the initial preset. It does no good to use the "New Sculptor" menu. Sure you can make changes, but it also creates duplicate files in the DW tree. Can you help?

Ed

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

When you want to edit an existing layout you will start off in the layout or preset manager and select the CSS Sculptor Layout you want to change, then click edit. When the Sculptor interface appears you will select to customize the css. When you customize the preset from here and click on finish you should have the ability to save over the existing preset or create a new preset based on your edits.

Does this option just now show up for you when you after you edit an existing preset? Do you get this option to appear when you create a new layout from within CSS Sculptor? Please post back with this info so we can determine how to proceed.

Sign in to reply to this post

eddempsey327330

I guess I am some what confused about what the CSS Sculptor actually does. I had no problem with creating my first layout. I saved it as a preset to be used again. After saving, Sculptor created a html page which I saved as "Start". Since I had only worked on the general layout of my new page, I wished to return to it to continue editing. Here, I started by clicking on the "Preset Manager" icon. I clicked on the layout I had saved before and clicked "Edit". I made the changes I wanted and clicked "Finish" in two different screens and finally "Done". The changes I had made were saved, but not to the "Start" html page. Am I to believe that any consequent changes are only to the layout and not to the html page? I can update the "Start" html, by creating a new page and save the changes. A new html page is created with the new changes, but also creates two new files; the CSS file and the images file. I had assumed that after editing the layout, that the changes would be saved to the original html file accordingly.

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

The updates that you make to the layout will not be saved to the already outputed page that was created earlier. It will just update the preset. When you have the preset updated the way you would like it you can just create a new page from that preset, the previous page you were working on would no longer be used. You can save over it with your new Sculptor page if you do not need the other page any longer.

Sign in to reply to this post
loading

Build websites with a little help from your friends

Your friends over here at WebAssist! These Dreamweaver extensions will assist you in building unlimited, custom websites.

Build websites from already-built web applications

These out-of-the-box solutions provide you proven, tested applications that can be up and running now.  Build a store, a gallery, or a web-based email solution.

Want your website pre-built and hosted?

Close Windowclose

Rate your experience or provide feedback on this page

Account or customer service questions?
Please user our contact form.

Need technical support?
Please visit support to ask a question

Content

rating

Layout

rating

Ease of use

rating

security code refresh image

We do not respond to comments submitted from this page directly, but we do read and analyze any feedback and will use it to help make your experience better in the future.

Close Windowclose

We were unable to retrieve the attached file

Close Windowclose

Attach and remove files

add attachmentAdd attachment
Close Windowclose

Enter the URL you would like to link to in your post

Close Windowclose

This is how you use right click RTF editing

Enable right click RTF editing option allows you to add html markup into your tutorial such as images, bulleted lists, files and more...

-- click to close --

Uploading file...