close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

I'm on a Mac...

Thread began 4/22/2009 9:26 am by mark282611 | Last modified 9/03/2009 10:36 am by Justin Nemeth | 5741 views | 9 replies |

mark282611

I'm on a Mac...

...using DW CS3 and have loads of WebAssist extensions, just downloaded the Contact Form Solutions Pack and saw the beginners guide to setting up a database and thought "YAY! At Last!" as I am a designer and have no clue about databses although I would like to/need to get my head round it.

However, it's all for Windows.

Is there ANYONE that can shed some light on working with databases on a Mac??? (a G5 2Ghz Dual Processor running OSX 10.4.11)

Has to be a really step-by-step setup for dummies type of thing, I really have no clue about databases - but I am a fast learner.

All/any help much appreciated

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

Have you looked at the WebAssist Database starter kit? It should walk you through many of the basics you would need.

Did this help? Tips are appreciated...

Justin Nemeth

If you want to get a quick web server and MySQL database server running, check out MAMP - index.html. That should get your test environment up and running quickly to dive in. Using the DB starter kit will walk you through the basics.

mark282611

Cheers guys - I'd overlooked that as it isn't in with the contact form thing.

Will have a run through with both and see if it points me in the right direction!

Thanks again.

susan.pro374869

mySQL and sodu command in Terminal

I followed the directions in your "How to install PHP/MySQL on Mac OS 10.5"