close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Database

Thread began 9/19/2009 3:35 pm by madelectrical386948 | Last modified 9/20/2009 9:37 am by office172461 | 5912 views | 7 replies |

madelectrical386948

Database

Hi,

I really need some help and to understand what I need to do.

I downloaded the webassist database starter kit. I have never done a database before.

The objective is to do a standard login for a website.

I have a Vista machine SP2. I would love to try these tools out like the Database for PHP.
I also use dreamweaver.

So I am watching the movies and on the 1st one it shows a inetpub directory and wwwroot. They call this the windows webserver root. The root can be anything you want. Correct? Where do I get those files. There are 11 files and they want to put the Database Elearning folder under the root.

The reason this is important, dreamweaver doesn't like my setup and I cannot add any database at all.

I am completely at a lose. Does anybody know what I am doing wrong and can help me step by step. If you can, please do.

thx

Mike

Sign in to reply to this post

office172461

For a development environment, you need a web sever (i.e. Apache - most common, or IIS), database server (i.e. MySQL) and PHP (Scripting language).

The easiest way to set all that up is to use something like XAMPP (Apache, MySQL, PHP, and Pearl. This does all the heavy work installing all of these for you, and includes some extra tools to make it easier to manage.

You can find XAMPP here:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html

There are some graphical installation instructions for XAMPP here:
http://janet.valade.com/installation/xampp_install.html