close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Automatically upload a file via FTP (for use with a scheduled CRON job)

Thread began 7/10/2017 5:32 am by Jared Lui | Last modified 7/14/2017 9:54 am by Ray Borduin | 6696 views | 12 replies |

Jared Lui

Automatically upload a file via FTP (for use with a scheduled CRON job)

GOAL: Using CRON, run a script at scheduled times. The script uploads the contents of a directory on the servers computer via FTP to another directory on another computer.

I have never used CRON before but setting up jobs in cPanel does not look that difficult. I have read dozens on posts (all 5-10 years old) on how to connect via FTP and put files. But none describe how to do this via cron.

From what I can gather, it would be simpler to create a script that does the connection/upload and just use CRON to run the file.

Here's what I have been able to write so far but am unsure how to turn this into a usable script file to run in CRON. I'm thinking a Php file?

Any help is appreciated.
---------------------------------------

#!/bin/bash
HOST=ftp.pentagon.base.com
USER=pentagon
PASSWORD=`echo cGFzc3dvcmQ= | base64 --decode`

ftp -inv $HOST <<EOF
user $USER $PASSWORD
cd /public_html/uploads/base
mput *.xlsx
bye
EOF

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

I'd get it working on a .php page and you can debug and get it working when you access the page directly. Once you have that working just google how to set up a CRON job to run a PHP page and it should be a simple one liner. Some servers have slightly different syntax, but your hosting support can always help if push comes to shove. It is a common enough task that you should be able to find the answer online.

Did this help? Tips are appreciated...

Jared Lui

Thanks Ray,