close ad
WARNING PC USERS: Do Not Install the DREAMWEAVER CC 2017 Update »
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Problems with Order Receipt and receiving complete billing information from a customer when they checkout with Paypal.

Thread began 1/26/2016 12:38 pm by ERB | Last modified 2/02/2016 9:04 pm by Ray Borduin | 1255 views | 10 replies |

ERB

Problems with Order Receipt and receiving complete billing information from a customer when they checkout with Paypal.

When a customer checks out through PayPal I no longer receive the billing information of the customer. I notice that when I do an order myself and select paypal instead of Credit Card, it does not even require me to enter the usual billing information and instead directs the customer directly to PayPal. Once they pay through paypal, they are returned to my site's confirmation page without entering billing information like name, address, etc. This has never been a problem for the last 3 years. Did I change something inadvertently or has something changed in the system?

Also, I am noticing that it does not appear to have deducted the purchase made via paypal from my inventory.

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

Nothing should have changed... what is your web site url? I'll take a look and see if I can reproduce the problem.

Billing information isn't asked for on your site because paypal gets that information from their site. But it should still be passed back to you and inventory control should still work.

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

I just tested further with my account. Paypal doesn't give you the billing information for a customer that pays through them... they only give the shipping information. They treat billing information as private... that is considered a benefit for buyers to use paypal is that it keeps all of their billing information private.

Shipping information should be all that you need to fulfill the order.

The inventory was properly updated in my test. Are you sure the inventory wasn't updated for you?

Sign in to reply to this post

ERB

Hey Ray! Thanks for looking into this! I am attaching screen shots of the two different order notifications I received. Yes, I just need the shipping information. Sorry for the confusion. Unfortunately the email I receive does not indicate any information regarding the customer.

Please see attachments.

i will test the inventory again but I did one order with a credit card and one with paypal and my inventory was only decreased by on unit. Both orders were shown as complete in the backend of my cafe commerce site.

Thanks again!

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

If you go to the admin and click on Settings->Tax & Shipping->Shipping... Do you have shipping enabled for the site. It won't include shipping if you specify you don't want to use shipping.

Sign in to reply to this post

ERB

Thanks for troubleshooting! It is greatly appreciated.

I just enabled shipping. After enabling shipping and trying to place an order, I was not able to go to PayPal and got this message:

"Transaction Not Completed

Our apologies. We are not currently set up to ship products to your country or postal code. If you believe you have reached this page in error, please try again. Please, make sure you have entered a valid postal code, it is possible we can negotiate a shipping rate for you, so please contact us directly for assistance. "

We have not enabled shipping in the 3 years we have used cafe commerce and it has not been a problem before. We are selling registrations for sports leagues so there is not anything to ship but we do need to collect information like name, email address and phone number. In the past the order receipt provided us the same information regarding the order whether it was paid via credit card or paypal in the past. Right now the paypal order receipt only provides email address.

I may be remembering this incorrectly? In the past, did cafe commerce require the customer to fill out their customer information page first and then select either credit card or paypal at the end. Now it seems you choose credit card and then fill out customer info OR choose PayPal and pay through pay pal with a click.

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

You need to set up a free shipping rule since you have specified that you have shipping.

I'd like to debug this with you anyway with regard to the inventory issue. Please post a US phone number or Skype contact information and I'll give you a call to look into it with you further.

Sign in to reply to this post

ERB

Please see the private message.

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

We were able to figure this out in our phone conversation. I added billing information that is available to the paypal receipt.

Sign in to reply to this post

ERB

Hey Ray, everything is working but now that I am live selling it seems that some of the credit card orders are reducing the inventory by two units per sale rather then by one? At least I think thats the problem. It just started so trying to figure it out. Any help would be appreciated as always.

Thanks again!

Sign in to reply to this post
loading

Build websites with a little help from your friends

Your friends over here at WebAssist! These Dreamweaver extensions will assist you in building unlimited, custom websites.

Build websites from already-built web applications

These out-of-the-box solutions provide you proven, tested applications that can be up and running now.  Build a store, a gallery, or a web-based email solution.

Want your website pre-built and hosted?

Close Windowclose

Rate your experience or provide feedback on this page

Account or customer service questions?
Please user our contact form.

Need technical support?
Please visit support to ask a question

Content

rating

Layout

rating

Ease of use

rating

security code refresh image

We do not respond to comments submitted from this page directly, but we do read and analyze any feedback and will use it to help make your experience better in the future.

Close Windowclose

We were unable to retrieve the attached file

Close Windowclose

Attach and remove files

add attachmentAdd attachment
Close Windowclose

Enter the URL you would like to link to in your post

Close Windowclose

This is how you use right click RTF editing

Enable right click RTF editing option allows you to add html markup into your tutorial such as images, bulleted lists, files and more...

-- click to close --

Uploading file...