close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

CSS Menu Writer and Responsive Design

Thread began 11/28/2012 3:04 pm by Rood's Media | Last modified 4/28/2015 3:05 pm by Ray Borduin | 4965 views | 12 replies |

Rood's Media

CSS Menu Writer and Responsive Design

Hi Everyone

I have been using the CSS Menu Writer for a couple years now and have had a lot of success. Now i am faced with a new issue... The menus are pretty much useless on any mobile device (phone or tablet) that requires "clicks" apposed to "Hovers".

Is there a way to make these CSS Menus work with mobile devices using responsive design? Or is there a simple way to edit the CSS to make it more cross-device friendly?

Are there any updates in the works for CSS Menu Writer in the near future?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

Mike T, one of our forum members posted the following thread on this topic the other day:
showthread.php?t=29212

nickj

Good start but does not appear to work in Safari on my MAC. This is a much needed update to CSS Menu writer...

NIck

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

I have submitted a feature request.

MikeyT

Safari doesn't allow you to resize your menu to the point where the mobile media query kicks in. That's why I referenced the browser resizer extension in my original post. Both Safari and Chrome have this problem. Must be a webkit browser thing. Firefox doesn't have this issue. If you view the link I posted on a phone (its intended context), it should work fine.

A lot of time has passed since I first posted that experiment. Looking back, its kinda crappy and not all that useful. I plan to revise it to include dropdown menus and have the entire menu system hide away behind the ubiquitous three line stacked icon, positioned in the corner (a.k.a. the burger icon).

Mike

Mike Perry