close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Sales Tax + Paypal Standard

Thread began 8/14/2012 11:34 am by barkmail | Last modified 8/24/2012 1:06 pm by Jason Byrnes | 4429 views | 12 replies |

barkmail

Sales Tax + Paypal Standard

Hello.

I am trying to set up Paypal Standard to apply Sales Tax to my online orders when shipping to California.

They tell me that the ecart program overrides their program and I need to disable sales tax within ecart for their sales tax program to work.

I have the checkout function embedded into my cart.php program which I have attached for your reference.

Would you tell me how to do this? Please note...I am not a programmer....

thank you.

Attached Files
cart.zip
Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

according to paypals documentation, the tax settings in your profile will only be over ridden if t a tax amount is passed by the cart.

In the cart page you have sent, there is nothing to over ride your profile tax settings. there is no code to pass a tax rate that would override the settings in your profile.

barkmail

Here is my challenge...California SALES TAX.

I would need the customer to identify somewhere that they are shipping to California. This is the only state where I have to charge a sales tax (8.25%).

Paypal has told me that they only can accept a SINGLE address. For some reason, both the ship to and bill to addresses are not accepted by paypal standard.
I would love for this to be incorrect information from paypal and to be able to use the standard ecart checkout forms.

When I try to upload two addresses (bill to and ship to) to paypal standard, it works OK when the customer is a PAYPAL CUSTOMER. This is because paypal already maintains the bill to information for their customers, and the ship to address from ecart is used properly.