close ad
Databridge V2 with MySQLi support IS Now Available!
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

PS 4.5 and PS 4.53

Thread began 6/13/2012 1:41 am by Dan808 | Last modified 6/14/2012 10:52 am by Jason Byrnes | 598 views | 3 replies |

Dan808

PS 4.5 and PS 4.53

Hello WA,
Would it be acceptable (Best Practice) to delete all current files from the Host Server and upload a complete fresh PS 4.5.3 store -
after the upload is completed... and the 7 steps of the install pages are completed -
Can I import the previous 4.5 store database and also corresponding folders (images, imagesadmin, imagesupload) from the original PS 4.5 store to the PS 4.5.3 store ?

The reason I ask is... I was successful updating Ver. 4.5 to Ver. 4.5.3 however, the updated site was just as slow as the original.

So I decided to get creative and after successfully completing the above scenario, the site is functioning well and noticeably "Much faster". Everything seems to be working as planned. PayPal works, All of my sales and registered users are there and its all good. Just wondering if there might possibly be some unforeseen demons lurking in the shadows?

As always, I am most appreciative for all the help from WA.

P.S. I did notice wa_settings row in the database is showing Ver. 4.5 and not 4.53.
That makes sense. I should change this, then save changes?

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

That should work fine for installing the newer version, the only thing I would do differently is:

when importing the original old database information, don't include the wa_settings table, there may be some columns in that table that are not included in the older version.

Sign in to reply to this post

Dan808

Help?

SQL is not one of my strongest skills.
Can you explain how to remove the old wa_settings table and install the new wa_settings table? I imported the old wa_settings table to the 4.5.3 site before I put my previous post up.

:-(

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

you would have needed to make a back up of the new wa_settings table before overwriting it to be able to do that. If you dint make a back up, you wont be able to revert.


More than likely, the settings table you have is fine, just in the future, dont overwrite the wa_settings table with the old one.

Sign in to reply to this post

Build websites with a little help from your friends

Your friends over here at WebAssist! These Dreamweaver extensions will assist you in building unlimited, custom websites.

Build websites from already-built web applications

These out-of-the-box solutions provide you proven, tested applications that can be up and running now.  Build a store, a gallery, or a web-based email solution.

Want your website pre-built and hosted?

Close Windowclose

Rate your experience or provide feedback on this page

Account or customer service questions?
Please user our contact form.

Need technical support?
Please visit support to ask a question

Content

rating

Layout

rating

Ease of use

rating

security code refresh image

We do not respond to comments submitted from this page directly, but we do read and analyze any feedback and will use it to help make your experience better in the future.

Close Windowclose

We were unable to retrieve the attached file

Close Windowclose

Attach and remove files

add attachmentAdd attachment
Close Windowclose

Enter the URL you would like to link to in your post

Close Windowclose

This is how you use right click RTF editing

Enable right click RTF editing option allows you to add html markup into your tutorial such as images, bulleted lists, files and more...

-- click to close --

Uploading file...