close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

can't resolve 'add to cart' / database issue

Thread began 5/21/2012 7:45 pm by lr_leal239405 | Last modified 5/22/2012 12:39 pm by Jason Byrnes | 990 views | 4 replies |

lr_leal239405

can't resolve 'add to cart' / database issue

I'm coming across this problem for a 3rd time....but slightly different. (I must reiterate that I am not a programmer but dabble in it in order to get some work done, thus the reason for having Webassist plugins).

In the first case I have a database in which one ID has 2 options....a CD or a DVD. The problem with this is that you could only select one because if you then selected a 2nd item it would simply add the first item for a 2nd time. The problem is that it's using one ID so it thinks it's the same item. I had solved this same problem on a small database by giving the CD and DVD a different ID and two different add to cart buttons. This case was solved by my friend who duplicated all the items for the DVDs thus giving them different ID.

In the new case I have 11,000 records for booking a date and 4 different time slots. When I pick a different time slot of the same date, it, of course thinks it's the same time slot that is being added to the cart. A young developer (kid just finishing H.S.) said to me that duplicating the items for each time slot seemed to be the solution without me having mentioned anything about my previous cases. I don't think duplicating all these records is the way to go and I definitely don't wish to do that. Can someone at Webassist give me another suggestion / solution? I thought of adding 4 different IDs but the selection for the times is a dropdown menu, so I wouldn't know what to do with the code from there on.

Thank you.

Sign in to reply to this post

CraigRBeta Tester

Another table