close ad
Databridge V2 with MySQLi support IS Now Available!
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Deleting a theme and upgrading

Thread began 4/04/2012 2:44 pm by lr_leal239405 | Last modified 4/04/2012 3:58 pm by Jason Byrnes | 522 views | 5 replies |

lr_leal239405

Deleting a theme and upgrading

I purchased powerstore a few weeks ago but there is already an upgrade. On the instructions it says to backup the files and then upload the new files. Seems to me that the whole new set of files for the entire cart is in the upgrade, not just a few as I had expected. Is it going to get rid of all the work I've done so far? I know I need to backup the \themes but what about all the other work I've done, like uploading images, writing content, creating users etc.

My next questions is simple. How do I delete a theme from the control panel? There's only Select Theme and Edit Theme options.

Thank you.

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

the upgrade will only effect any customizations you have made to the files of power store outside of the themes folder, it will effect products in the database, product images or content added through the content management system.


for each theme, a new folder is created in the webassist/themes folder. to delete a theme, create the folder for that theme.

Sign in to reply to this post

lr_leal239405

Just want to make sure I understand. You said ' it will effect...' Did you mean that or did you mean to say it won't affect. Because if it will, then I would have to rebuild most everything I have built already.

Then you said 'to delete a theme, create the folder...' Did you you mean 'delete' the folder?

Sorry, just need some clarification. thanks.

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

sorry about that, i think I'm typing to fast...

my previous post should have read:

the upgrade will only effect any customizations you have made to the files of power store outside of the themes folder, it will _not_ effect products in the database, product images or content added through the content management system.


for each theme, a new folder is created in the webassist/themes folder. to delete a theme, _delete_ the folder for that theme.

Sign in to reply to this post

lr_leal239405

thanks. I do have another question but dont' think I need to open another thread for this. I created another user with Administrator privileges but it seems to grant all the same privileges as the main administratror.....does it? I can see the users I created in the ps4_users table but I don't see the main administrator which is what I use to log in. Where is my log in info saved? I went through all the tables but don't see it. Must be an extra security measure ?

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

the super admin user and password are stored in the wa_settings table.

an administrator user wont be able to change store settings or create new content areas, but will have all other permissions in the admin panel.

Sign in to reply to this post

Build websites with a little help from your friends

Your friends over here at WebAssist! These Dreamweaver extensions will assist you in building unlimited, custom websites.

Build websites from already-built web applications

These out-of-the-box solutions provide you proven, tested applications that can be up and running now.  Build a store, a gallery, or a web-based email solution.

Want your website pre-built and hosted?

Close Windowclose

Rate your experience or provide feedback on this page

Account or customer service questions?
Please user our contact form.

Need technical support?
Please visit support to ask a question

Content

rating

Layout

rating

Ease of use

rating

security code refresh image

We do not respond to comments submitted from this page directly, but we do read and analyze any feedback and will use it to help make your experience better in the future.

Close Windowclose

We were unable to retrieve the attached file

Close Windowclose

Attach and remove files

add attachmentAdd attachment
Close Windowclose

Enter the URL you would like to link to in your post

Close Windowclose

This is how you use right click RTF editing

Enable right click RTF editing option allows you to add html markup into your tutorial such as images, bulleted lists, files and more...

-- click to close --

Uploading file...