close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Viewing PHP file created by Dreamweaver CS3 in a web browser locally

Thread began 3/19/2009 3:16 pm by ResB | Last modified 1/08/2010 2:49 pm by ResB | 15588 views | 13 replies |

ResB

Viewing PHP file created by Dreamweaver CS3 in a web browser locally

Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm a total novice with this query.

I've developed a website in Dreamweaver CS3 where all of my pages are PHP. For the last two days I have been able to view the pages locally using the "view in browser" button and selecting Firefox. If I tried to use Internet Explorer I would get a pop-up saying "Do I want to open or save this file", the file being the page I've tried to view, index.php for example. However, Firefox, just opened the PHP file as if it were an ordinary HTML file.

However, all of a sudden without any warning I can no longer view the pages in Firefox. When I try I get the "what do you want to open the file with?" and if I select Firefox I just get a blank page!

I don't have any testing sites set up or have Apache installed or any other server based software for that matter.

Is there any reason why this would just start happening?

Hope you can help.

Regards,

Rich

Sign in to reply to this post

Ray BorduinWebAssist

Because you just started naming your pages .php and used to name them .html? That is my guess, but really there isn't enough information to properly diagnose this problem.

Did this help? Tips are appreciated...

ResB

Sorry Ray,

I wasn't perhaps very clear.

The pages were all created from new i.e. file --> new ..> PHP All the pages were bonefide PHP files and I was able to view the pages locally. But now when I try to view the PHP pages I get the pop-up asking if I want to open the file "index.php" where before it would just open in Firefox and display as you would expect.