close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Dropping Data???

Thread began 6/28/2011 8:18 am by Justin@AdventDesign | Last modified 7/21/2011 8:02 am by Ray Borduin | 1456 views | 6 replies |

Justin@AdventDesign

Dropping Data???

I'm completely confused over this one.

I've been using web assist data assist for many years on many, many projects and I've NEVER run into anything like this.

Developed a product database for a client. Fully tested the online data assist forms and everything worked fine. Had the client upload their data. After many hours of uploading, the client discovered much of the data they input was not retained. The individual records were there, but the information within was not.

I have fully tested and retested on my system (Mac using FireFox 5 browser) and cannot duplicate their issue. Everything seems to work perfectly fine for me. They are on an older PC using IE (can't seem to tell me the version). Could that be an issue? I know there are display issues with older browsers but I've never run into form issues in which everything appears to function properly but data is just lost.

Suggestions for troubleshooting??? Please Help!

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

double check that the form elements in the page are all configured correctly with a value attribute, even if the value is blank:

<input type="text" name="first_name" value="" >

I have seen some older versions of IE have issues passing form data with fields that did not include the value attribute.

make sure your client is actually clicking the forms submit button with the mouse rather than hitting the enter key to submit the form.

have them try the form with Fire fox instead of IE to see if the problem persists.

Justin@AdventDesign

Thanks Jason. I'll give that a shot.

Justin@AdventDesign