close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

SA1, admin retrieves or changes customers passwords

Thread began 5/26/2011 12:05 pm by un33k9309513 | Last modified 5/27/2011 6:33 am by Jason Byrnes | 1270 views | 5 replies |

un33k9309513

SA1, admin retrieves or changes customers passwords

Hi,

I am at a fork in the middle of finishing this but I have an important question which will guide me one way or another and I hope for #1 way.

#1 - I have SA1, how can the admin change other users passwords if they are SHA1 encrypted? Can I set something up like the tutorial (05_update_page.swf) except maybe adding a link for each user in the (user_Results.php) created by DA so as an admin I can click change password for any user. I know the customer can do forgot email password; but some of the customers don't use email.

Currently:
-passwords are not encrypted
-email has not been set as unique value during registration process (because some customers don't have email)

Will setup if there is a way for #1:
-encrypt passwords
-email setup as unique value (#2 can we leave email blank during registration process if it's setup as unique to block duplicate entries?)

So my 2 questions are:

How to do #1
Is #2 possible

Thanks,
Ed

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

to have the admin change the password, you would use data assist to create pages for search results and update for the users table.

where the password is not encrypted, a strait data assist update page linked with a results page is all that is needed.

If you leave the email blank for some users, you cannot set the email column to be unique. it fail for the second blank email address since a blank one was already entered.

un33k9309513

Hi,

I have a multiple step question below,