close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

File Permissions

Thread began 3/18/2011 7:20 pm by ore423857 | Last modified 3/22/2011 8:18 am by Jason Byrnes | 2709 views | 7 replies |

ore423857

File Permissions

Hello,

I am new to all of this and I keep getting this message:

"File Permissions

Files and directories cannot be created. Verify the Site Sculptor directory has write permissions on your server."

I uploaded everything into my root folder with an ftp tool. GoDaddy is the host. What do I do?

Ore

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

you need to give the root of your go daddy site read an write permissions to allow the site sculptor installer to create the needed files.

ore423857

Is there somewhere in the help directories where it shows HOW the folders should be setup? I keep searching for this but I can't find anything.

Should all the files that Sit Sculptor created be in the root or should they be in a folder within the root?

THEN, to give rights, just right-click and check which of the boxes? What should the number be?

Thanks for the help.

ore423857

Also, which folders do I actually need to give permission to?

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

the files that site sculptor creates can be in the root of your site or they can be in a sub directory.

Wherever they are placed, the containing folder needs to allow read and write access for all users.

if they are in the root, you need to set the access level for the site root to allow read and right access for all users, either 755 or 777 permission level.

if you place the site sculptor files in a sub directory, that sub directory needs to have read and write permissions granted for all users.

ore423857

This is getting pretty aggravating...