close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Changeable product options

Thread began 1/06/2011 4:19 am by moz1104419172 | Last modified 1/07/2011 7:35 am by Jason Byrnes | 2000 views | 5 replies |

moz1104419172

Changeable product options

Hi,

Iv been attempting to wrack my brain around how i can come up with a database solution for a website im trying to build, unfortunately this is my first attempt at using this WA system so I cant confess to being anything of an expert on it.

What im trying to do is with the product options for certain items im trying to sell, mostly the items are clothes and most of them arent problematic, i believe i have figured out how to do size, style and basic colour etc.

But the problem is that some of them have 2 colours which change depending on what the primary colour is, ie. i have:

Red, Black, Blue, Grey and White tshirts and the same colour is available for the logo on each, the problem being you cant have a red tshirt with a red logo as it wouldnt show up nor would selecting the same colours for both in any combination

Basically im trying to figure out a way so that if someone chooses the primary colour of Red in the first product option dropdown, the only options available for the secondary colour are Blue, Black, Grey and White and similarly depending on what primary colour they choose

I thought i was on the verge of properly understanding the product options until i thought that this solution would require me to reconfigure the database structure to have another table in, and thats when i figured i would be out of my depth

Any help would be great

Thanks

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

this would not be done through the database.