close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Dynamic Suite

Thread began 9/24/2010 8:01 am by ltsi1357391 | Last modified 9/25/2010 3:26 am by ltsi1357391 | 2593 views | 11 replies |

ltsi1357391

Dynamic Suite

Hello all,
I am a web designer just starting out on DATABASE stuff, I purchased the Dynamic Suite a few days back hoping to set up some e commerce shops, I really am struggling at this time.

I downloaded the database videos to get started but just can not connect to my server. It appears they have PHP and SQL on them already. I set up a database but can not connect to it.

I am really confused, I want to set up a database and get a shop working from it, the tutorial is out of date as when you download sql it comes as a work bench 5.0 so the outlay is totally different to that on the videos.

Sorry but I am thick, I understand how it works but I just can get connected to my DB, can anyone explain what the following means,

1.connection name -
2.MySQL server -
3 User - Ok I know this
4. Pass - As above
5. Database - I persume thats what I called it

I use FreeVirtualServers

Please help as I really need to get a grip on this matter...

Thanks Chris

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

many hosts will set the MySQL server up in such a way that outside connections will not be allowed

For development and learning, it is a good idea to set up local testing server. With a local testing server, you will not need to worry about the hosts restrictions on the MySQL server.

For details on setting up a local testing server, see the learning resources page:
resources.php

this page also has tutorials for setting up your Dreamweaver Site and configuring the database connection.

ltsi1357391