close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

MAMP problem

Thread began 6/22/2010 11:24 am by helenbfraser407828 | Last modified 6/24/2010 9:28 am by Eric Mittman | 5324 views | 10 replies |

helenbfraser407828

MAMP problem

Hello I am just getting started with SiteAssist and Dreamweaver CS5 on Snow Leopard - trying to set up the localhost testing server so I can design my site offline.

I am not very knowledgeable and rely a lot on following very explicit instructions. I have previously downloaded and used the MAMP successfully but I cant get it to work now.

I think one issue may be that the instructions relate to DW CS4 and the screens are different in CS5. I dont know enough to relate the fields in the two forms confidently and fear I may have somehow stuffed up my MAMP PHP/MySQL settings. Anyway I am getting two kinds of error message.

One is
'An unknown error occurred while discovering dynamically related files' in DW
and
'Safari can’t connect to the server.
Safari can’t open the page “index.php” because Safari can’t connect to the server “localhost”.' in the browser.

The other is shown by the attached image.

I greatly hope someone can help me as I have been breaking my brains over this for quite a few days and feeling very dumb. Maybe even with site assist making my own website is just too hard for me but I would really like to be able to do it. I am really hoping that these error messages are just a small hurdle and once sorted up will be off and running.

Thanks heaps in advance and sorry if this is a question I should know the answer to!
Helen

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

As for the DW error you are getting you should try deleting your cache file to see if this resolves the problem for you. Here are instructions for deleting this file:

common_installation_issues.pdf