close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

database search dynamic menu

Thread began 5/14/2010 11:41 am by basim | Last modified 7/20/2010 7:04 am by Jason Byrnes | 3289 views | 11 replies |

basim

database search dynamic menu

OK im extremely new to databases and dataassist. I'm trying to create a search function that searches a database using 2 drop-down menus and a free text field. l set up my database tried the wizard the first time and wasn't very successful. j0Food_Search.php. The menus wouldn't populate but I was pleased to see upon doing a null search the search returned all results and also typing text in the description field would return matching results! So I figured I was half way there! 3 days later I still can't figure out how to get the menus to work.
1. Display dynamically (choose a class then have the brand filter based on selection, but be able to choose a brand without choosing a category if the user wants to)
2. Most importantly I want it to work! I haven't been able to get a search by brand or class to work. Only the description field returns a result...

I'm obviously missing something very basic here cause this is a very common application.

I've gotten this far by using the dataassist wizard and then following the instructions for dynamic Dropdowns. j0Food_Search.php
The menus work dynamically but the "brand" menu only populates when a "class" is picked. Also the search still doesn't work (other than null or using description). Im guessing there is a disconnect with the table in the menu fields.

Please help!!!

Sign in to reply to this post

troyd

Don't know if I can help, but I just completed one of these.