close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Getting metrics on Size of database and qty of photos

Thread began 2/21/2010 3:29 am by pcondon1390228 | Last modified 2/22/2010 9:42 am by Justin Nemeth | 1245 views | 2 replies |

pcondon1390228

Getting metrics on Size of database and qty of photos

Dear Sirs,

I have a client who is interested in using the power gallery for his web site. He is a commercial photographer and I am trying to get a handle on size of mysql database needed.

Are the images compresses to the database ?

He wants to use the following categories:

Wildlife 26 galleries/categories
Travel 5 galleries/categories
Latest Images 3 galleries/categories

What is the size limit for each gallery and what would you need in terms of capacity on the hosted my sql database

Sign in to reply to this post

WilliFixit

Hi,

I am a photographer and was concerned about the same. I checked out the database and found that it only contains three tables:

• One for gallery information,
  • One for the gallery images,
  • One for the general settings.

The second, the gallery images, only contains text and integer fields--no binary fields that could contain images. Therefore, each additional image (record) would only take about 2k (kilobytes) of space in the database itself.

The actual images, in all sizes, are stored within the site structure itself as files (not the database) within the PowerGallery folder. In whatever folder you installed PowerGallery, there is another folder called "images". Inside the "images" folder there are numbered folders (1, 2, 3...) for each gallery. That is where your space will get used.

In my gallery folders (the numerical ones) there are nine (9) copies of each image, at differing sizes (thumbnail, 1024px wide, etc.) including the original image. As far as total size is concerned, here is what my site is showing: