They should not be deleted. How did you uninstall? Hopefully you didnt' delete your configuration folder.
When you uninstall it should only remove the files that were installed, and new layouts are stored in new files and folders so they should not be lost.
The exception is if you saved over the existing layouts, in which case they may be lost.