Ok I got that. When I saved the template I was expecting that the edit would edit the template not default to new every time I opened the menuwriter. I never scrolled down to the saved version.
I also never expected not to have to overwrite the saved version every time i did an edit, I assumed I was creating a new one every time.. But now I got it.