close ad
WARNING: Do Not Install the DREAMWEAVER CC 2017 or 2018 Update »
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

Manage Options

Thread began 8/21/2012 7:15 pm by edr441698 | Last modified 8/23/2012 9:12 pm by edr441698 | 928 views | 10 replies

edr441698

My solution so far

Well, I found a way (on my own) to make changes to my product variations "stick." I am on a Mac/ OSX 10.6.8... but my solution should work for any platform so long as you can actually monitor your network activity. Personally I used the software called, Little Snitch, to watch what happened when I clicked on CafeCommerce's green "SAVE VARIATIONS" button.
THAT is when I noticed that even though CafeCommerce appeared to be done with it's "save" (because their web interface gave me back control and their green "SAVE VARIATIONS" button went to black and then back to green again upon moving the cursor) according to the network activity, my computer was still very busy UPLOADING to CafeCommerce. I counted off (in my head) 15-20 seconds of continued network activity with my account on CafeCommerce after I clicked their "SAVE VARIATIONS" button. I am on a relatively fast cable modem connection - so absolutely no issues with my connection.

In any event, I found that if I did absolutely nothing (ie. did not continue to work on my e-store) until AFTER the Little Snitch software told me my computer was no longer communicating with CafeCommerce, THEN any change I made to pricing or otherwise was actually saved.

Seems to me the CafeCommerce web interface should NOT be returning control back to me until AFTER all my variations have indeed been saved. This is a major flaw in this interface for anyone like me who sell products that allow lots and lots of variations.

My products for example have 7 "Groups" and each group offers 2 - 3 options.

This also may or may not explain CafeCommerce's bug of auto-populating my products lists with those hundreds of Variations as individual Products when all I was doing was deleting the Groups. I suspect, there too, if I had NOT repeatedly, quickly, deleted whole Groups as soon as CafeCommerce returned control back to me following it's confirmation screen... but rather, had watched the network activity and WAITED for there to be none before deleting the next Group, then the auto-populating bug would not have shown up.

I share all this in hope it will save others from many hours or days of lost time working with this ecommerce software.

Build websites with a little help from your friends

Your friends over here at WebAssist! These Dreamweaver extensions will assist you in building unlimited, custom websites.

Build websites from already-built web applications

These out-of-the-box solutions provide you proven, tested applications that can be up and running now.  Build a store, a gallery, or a web-based email solution.

Want your website pre-built and hosted?

Close Windowclose

Rate your experience or provide feedback on this page

Account or customer service questions?
Please user our contact form.

Need technical support?
Please visit support to ask a question

Content

rating

Layout

rating

Ease of use

rating

security code refresh image

We do not respond to comments submitted from this page directly, but we do read and analyze any feedback and will use it to help make your experience better in the future.

Close Windowclose

We were unable to retrieve the attached file

Close Windowclose

Attach and remove files

add attachmentAdd attachment
Close Windowclose

Enter the URL you would like to link to in your post

Close Windowclose

This is how you use right click RTF editing

Enable right click RTF editing option allows you to add html markup into your tutorial such as images, bulleted lists, files and more...

-- click to close --

Uploading file...