close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Moving from ASP to PHP

Thread began 11/16/2009 4:27 am by Nathon Jones Web Design | Last modified 11/17/2009 4:57 am by CraigR | 2472 views | 7 replies |

Nathon Jones Web Design

Moving from ASP to PHP

Hi.

I've used WebAssist extensions for quite a number of years and was disappointed when they announced that they would be dropping support for ASP and would no longer be developing extensions for ASP.

So...seeing as WebAssist have forced me into a "move to PHP or go away" situation I wondered if I could use this forum to help me move to PHP?

My first question, and bear with me as I am a complete PHP novice, is:

Previously, I used a browser to open ASP pages, locally (dynamicpage.asp), which were linked to a database. I've tried creating a PHP page, with a database connection, but when I try to preview this page in the browser (dynamicpage.php), it just reopens the page in Dreamweaver.

It appears that I can't open a PHP page that has a database connection, locally, in my browser.

How do I achieve this?

Thanks.
Regards
Nath.

Sign in to reply to this post

Office Guy-172461

How to set up a local testing server for Dreamweaver

Have a look here:
144/

Nathon Jones Web Design

multiple products?

Thanks for the reply.

What is the difference between the link you've posted and this product?:
en/

I am concerned about using third party software products that will, inevitably, require updating every time there is a new release or bug problem.

At least, with Windows IIS, you get the updates automatically and it's part of the operating system.

Is there anything, for PHP, that will update automatically so that I can develop on my PC without worrying that I'm out of date?

Nathon Jones Web Design

server conflict

Also, I note that I will have to stop IIS running in order to use XAMPP.