close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

source files explained

Thread began 8/11/2009 12:24 pm by rob_wilkins385013 | Last modified 8/19/2009 1:57 pm by Eric Mittman | 1988 views | 5 replies |

rob_wilkins385013

source files explained

Is there some documentation on the site that explains the various elements of the source files? I'm new to PHP and would appreciate the chance to view comments on the various scripts to make customizing them a bit easier.

For instance, it would be nice to be able to make the products catalog page populate itself in two columns instead of one. If I knew where the script for this was hiding out, and had an explanation of the functions, I might be able to play with it and modify it without being too much of a pest on the boards.

Thanks

Sign in to reply to this post

Eric Mittman

We do not have any guides or references that define the functionality of the source code, in the code itself you will see some loose commenting but not a lot. Fortunately most of the source is written in such a way that if you are a little familiar with php you should not have too hard of a time reading it. If you are a beginner it may take a little while to get through some of it.

When it comes to adding in a new column or making the existing menu split it will require that you do some editing to the intermediate.php file in the CSSMenuWriter folder. In here you will find the recordsets that gather the details from the db, then the loops that generate the listing. Since it is just designed for a single column you would need to devise how you would like it setup for the two columns, then make edits to this file to fit your needs.

rob_wilkins385013

Thanks Eric. However, I don't have css menu writer.