close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Make search field a dropdown list after Data Assist Wizard?

Thread began 11/06/2012 7:52 am by erin.hedrick443527 | Last modified 2/08/2013 7:01 am by Jason Byrnes | 1614 views | 9 replies |

erin.hedrick443527

Make search field a dropdown list after Data Assist Wizard?

Hello,
I am very new to Dreamweaver and Web Assist, but I feel there should be a relatively easy way to achieve what I am looking for, so I am hoping to get a bit of assistance, as I am not having much luck on my own.

I am trying to create a very simple database search of facilities, in which a client can search by multiple features (not dynamically). I used the Data Assist wizard, and it looks fine. But, I am hoping to get a few of the options to be a dropdown choice, in order to help with ease of use. Is there an easy and quick way to do this?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

make not of the name of the text field you want to replace.

the delete it and replace it with a select list. make sure to use the same name for the select list as the text box that is being replaced.

erin.hedrick443527

Thank you very much! I knew there had to be an easy solution. However, there is still one problem with it. I want the ability for them to choose a dropdown, but I also want the ability for them to not need to choose something for each dropdown. Is there a way to have a "blank" answer for each dropdown to where it will still return all results?

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

yes, add an option to the select list with a blank value:

<option value="">Please make a selection</option>

mark402027

Dropdown help needed

Hi
Does the same method work with pages created by Databridge, if so could anyone explain more fully. I have been struggling with this for a while now.