close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Newbie Information

Thread began 8/04/2012 2:48 pm by info440887 | Last modified 8/04/2012 2:48 pm by info440887 | 567 views | 0 replies |

info440887

Newbie Information

It seems to me that the documentation for PowerCMS is really lacking and it would be really easy for someone at WebAssist to create some. I hope what I outline is helpful to new users. I am new to DreamWeaver, to the Web Assist extensions I recently purchased and new to using MySQL databases with a website. Here are some simple steps to help get you up and running with PowerCMS. Please feel free to add to or correct anything I've outlined.

1. If your web host has a CPanel and supports PHP, create a MySQL database on your account using the MySQL database wizard. Mine prompted me to also enter the userid/password specific to my database. Write them down of course.

2. Use the Remote MySQL icon in CPanel to associate your computer's IP address with the database so you can connect to it through DreamWeaver.

3. You won't have to do anything with phpMyAdmin. As far as I can tell that screen is used to manipulate tables, etc. for the database and the PowerCMS product will connect to your database through Dreamweaver and create the tables for you.

4. In Dreamweaver under Sites>Manage Sites you name your site, point to a local site folder. Under Servers, you define your server. Name it what you like, the address is the domain name, connection is FTP, and I'm using a test server on the Internet, so I have both the Remote and Testing boxes checked. The username and password corresponds to the web host username and password, the root directory is whatever your web host tells you it is, web URL is the domain name. (All basic server information). Under Servers, Advanced button, Testing Server, Server Model is PHP/MySQL.