close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

upload file and update database

Thread began 1/09/2011 1:34 pm by Sally | Last modified 1/17/2011 7:47 am by Jason Byrnes | 2212 views | 7 replies |

Sally

upload file and update database

I'm new to CSS Form Builder so maybe I'm missing something. But what I want to do is create a form that uploads a file, inserting a record into a database with info about that file. The user will choose from a few types, such as Minutes, Financials and Other and then provide info like the date and name along with the file to be uploaded. I don't see a preset that looks anything like that so I modified a registration preset to have the fields I want, including the File field.

In the Form Function tab I have the option of what folder I want the file to be uploaded to, but nothing about inserting a record into the database with the other fields. Should I next select the form and then apply a Insert Record behavior for the other fields?

If there's a better way to design this all together, I'm open to that too.

Thank you.

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

After creating the Form with Form Builder, you will need to use the data Assist Insert record behavior to add the form data to the database including the name of the uploaded file.

Sally

Thanks for your reply. I applied the Assist Insert behavior and it works except for the list field on the form. The item I select from the list appears in the form, and is sent in the email, but does not update on the database. You've asked that I send you this file for review regarding my "No To recordset or getting attachment" thread so maybe you could look at it then. Or post and I'll be happy to try whatever you say. Thanks, Jason.

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

i started a ticket for the other issue, i will look into this one at the same time.

Sally