close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

database setup for digital downloads

Thread began 3/15/2010 11:51 am by DavidIIM | Last modified 3/16/2010 10:54 am by Dani Chankhour | 662 views | 1 replies |

DavidIIM

database setup for digital downloads

I am new to setting up databases and I am looking for more detailed explanation of the eCommerce mySQL Database. It looks like it has all the tables I needs to do what I am trying to do, but I am not sure how to put it all together. I have added products by creating a .csv file and importing, and I have added a few options to the options table, but I want to make sure I have the categories and options tables set up properly before I go adding the other hundreds of products I have to add.

The site I am building is marketing music downloads. I want to make available for each track the option of downloading in mp3, mp4, cda or other formats. Since the digital download location will be different with each option where do I put the download location.

Also, I want to be able to put each album or maybe even track in more than one category. Is there a way to do that since the products table only has one column for a categoryID.

Since I am going to make each album downloadable as a package how do I set that up. Will I add each album as a product? Will I then put all the files of that album in a zip file and link to the zip file? Your ideas along these lines are appreciated as well.

I do realize that I am going to need to set up a couple tables that were not in the eCommerce mySQL database like Album and Artist in order to make the tracks searchable by those things. I also know I need to get all that set up from the beginning so I am not recreating the whole database several times to get all the features I am looking for. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated!

Sign in to reply to this post