close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Defining a Dynamic site in Dreamweaver

Thread began 2/27/2010 3:31 pm by Bruce | Last modified 3/04/2010 2:20 pm by Eric Mittman | 2221 views | 11 replies |

Bruce

Defining a Dynamic site in Dreamweaver

Hi,
I am new to ecommerce and I want to add eCart5 to my existing web site. I would appreciate it if you can help and guide me in different steps.
Information about my computer:

• iMac G5 OSX 10.4.11
  • Dreamweaver CS3
  • eCart5
  • My existing website
  • MAMP and Testing Server installed successfully (I see the Welcome PHP/MySQL testing server).

Now I am in “Defining a Dynamic site in Dreamweaver” step and I follow “Getting Started with eCart” in your website but I am confused and stuck at this step.
I need you to help me please to define the path for
Local Info > Site name, Local root folder, HTTP address
and Testing Server > URL Prefix inDremweaver CS3 with the information below regarding the files management in my computer.
In my computer the existing website’s files are organized under:
Macintosh HD >Websites > Local Root Folder .

Different question:
I have to add “Add to Cart” button for 440 items so I want to accomplish this in the correct way.
Q) Should I add “Add to Cart” button for 440 items for each item separately or there is a way to do it faster to save time that I ignore?
Thank you.

Sign in to reply to this post

Office Guy-172461

I'm not on a Mac but I think I can help.

The key to remember with defining the server path is that it has to be the "web root" and not just a folder on your hard drive. This is the special folder that your local web server uses to process the file as a web page.