No. It is primarily to isolate any issues. Most likely it would not cause any issues, but I'd at least back up your current configuration folder just in case. If you do install other extensions, you would have to install them first and install the ALPHA after to make sure the alpha files aren't overwritten with older versions.
When it goes live I will update the other extensions to use the same shared files.